I first started cooking with tofu after college, which was not so coincidentally when I first became fully responsible for paying my own grocery bills. Cutting out meat was a quick way to save, but as a lifetime study in hanger management, I knew I needed to ensure that my vegetarian meals were filling and protein rich. A friend turned me on to cooking with tofu, and I’ve been a devotee ever since. Tofu saw me through many easy dinners when I was first learning to cook, helped keep Ben and me well fed while he was in law school, and is still a regular on our dinner menus. Tofu might sound like an obvious choice for someone looking to cook more meatless meals, but since it was not something we grew up eating, cooking with it was new territory. My impressions of tofu were that it was mushy and bland. Thank goodness I decided to try it anyway. I could not have been more wrong! Uncooked or improperly cooked tofu is mushy and bland. Well-cooked, nicely seasoned tofu (ahem, this Tofu Taco recipe) is wildly delicious. In addition to the pro-taste potential, tofu is high in protein, incredibly versatile, and far easier on your wallet than meat too.

I snagged the idea for Tofu Tacos from our favorite taco spot, which is dangerously located just a seven-minute walk from our new house. They make some of my favorite vegetarian tacos (aside from my own Cauliflower Tacos), so when a new tofu-based one came on the menu, I had to try it. Honestly…I was let down. I am adamant that eating a vegetarian meal doesn’t mean you should have to sacrifice taste, texture, or satisfaction, and the restaurant’s tofu taco didn’t hit it home. The flavor was one-note and the texture uninteresting. I felt like I was skimping. I couldn’t let it go. After all, these Asian-inspired Mushroom Tofu Tacos have been one of the latest, greatest hits to come from our kitchen. Surely I could come up with a recipe for Mexican tofu tacos worthy of the precious avocado I planned to slather all over the top!

How to Make the Best Tofu Tacos

Here we have it, the spicy Tofu Tacos of my dreams!

I took inspiration from my Vegan Enchiladas and started the filling by breaking the tofu into crumbles and sautéing it. The benefit here is that you don’t have to bother with pressing the tofu first. The liquid cooks right off. To give the recipe the effect of smoked Tofu Tacos without the fuss of actually smoking the tofu (challenging particularly since I don’t own a smoker), I added a generous amount of chipotle chili powder, which has a lightly smoky, spicy taste. If you are sensitive to spice, you can reduce the amount. If you love your tofu tacos spicy, carry on as written and feel free to kick it up even further. For additional protein, I added black beans, which stretch the filling further, give the tacos additional protein and fiber, and make for a pleasing textural contrast too. Final flavor booster: prepared salsa. It instantly ups the tacos’ taste for almost zero additional effort.

After making the filling, although I loved the flavor, I still wasn’t 100% satisfied with the texture. I wanted the tofu taco crumbles to have the bits of the crispness that I love in meat-based tacos. Popping the skillet under the broiler a few times did the trick! The baked tofu tacos filling had the crispy bits that I’d been missing. Looking for a recipe using tempeh instead? These Tempeh Tacos are another delicious, smoky option.

More Ways to Use Tofu Taco Filling

Any-Way-You-Like-Them Tofu Tacos. We love these inside flour tortillas, piled with avocado, salsa, fresh cilantro, and a squeeze of lime. As written, this recipe is for vegan tacos; if you aren’t dairy free, feel free to pile them with cheese and Greek yogurt too. Tofu Nachos. Spread corn tortilla chips onto a rimmed baking sheet and sprinkle the filling over the top. Sprinkle generously with shredded cheese, then place under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Tofu Enchiladas. Roll inside corn tortillas and line up side by side in a pan. Top with red enchilada sauce and shredded cheese, then bake in a 350 degree F oven until hot and bubbly. Mexican Tofu Hash. Top with a fried egg or mix with eggs to create a scramble. Tofu Burrito Bowl. Mix with rice and serve topped with lots of avocado, Greek yogurt, and cheese. Frozen Tofu Tacos. You can make the filling ahead then freeze it for up to 3 months. Thaw overnight in the refrigerator or more quickly in the microwave if you forget to pull it out before dinner.

How to Store and Freeze Tofu Tacos

To Store. Store leftover filling in the refrigerator for up to 4 days . To Freeze. Place filling in an airtight freezer-safe storage container for up to 3 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator before reheating.

Whether or not tofu is new territory to you, I hope these Tofu Tacos give you a reason either to try it for the first time or add a new vegetarian recipe to your dinner rotation. As always, if you do try the recipe, please leave a comment below. I love hearing what you think!

Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 96Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 52Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 21Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 41Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 5Tofu Tacos with Black Beans - 25